The mission of the Johnson City Development Authority is to promote and assist with the development and redevelopment of Johnson City, with specific emphasis on downtown, in collaboration with other entities throughout the community; identifying needs and implementing actions. The JCDA is an accredited National Main Street community.

The JCDA is a City appointed board. Members are appointed for a three year term. Current members are: Tembra Aldridge, Lee Chase, Kelly Grieb, Tracy Johnson, Jodi Jones, Brent Long, Josh Mancuso, Freddie Malone, Donna Noland, Craig Torbett, Robert Williams and Paul Williamson. Staff liason is Dianna Cantler, Downtown Development Director. The JCDA meets the first Friday of each month at 8 am in the Northeast Tennessee Regional Economic Partnership office.

Priorities for the JCDA include safety and enhancing the walkability of downtown, expanding opportunities for public and private parking, programming events downtown and managing all areas of Founders Park and King Commons, administration of facade grants, TIF projects and new business development. Additional committees that help with the revitalization of downtown include: Design, Economic Vitality, Parking and Marketing and Promotions.

Application for 2016 JC Facade Application

2016 TIF Policy and Guidelines

The Historic Zoning Committee for Johnson City has set guidelines for the Historic District, they can be found here.