The mission of Connect Downtown Johnson City is to foster a thriving downtown ecosystem that is desirable for residents, businesses, and visitors by forging partnerships and facilitating community connections.

Connect Downtown is a part of the National Main Street program. The Main Street Approach is centered around Transformation Strategies. A Transformation Strategy articulates a focused, deliberate path to revitalizing or strengthening a downtown or commercial district’s economy.

Transformation Strategies are implemented through comprehensive work in four broad areas, known as the Four Points.
 focuses on capital, incentives, and other economic and financial tools to assist new and existing businesses, catalyze property development, and create a supportive environment for entrepreneurs and innovators that drive local economies.
DESIGN supports a community’s transformation by enhancing the physical and visual assets that set the commercial district apart.
PROMOTION positions the downtown or commercial district as the center of the community and hub of economic activity, while creating a positive image that showcases a community’s unique characteristics.
ORGANIZATION involves creating a strong foundation for a sustainable revitalization effort, including cultivating partnerships, community involvement, and resources for the district.

A revitalization program’s work – and its Transformation Strategies – need to be informed by a solid understanding of local and regional market data, and sustained and inclusive community engagement.

Connect Downtown’s transformation strategies are to strengthen our development of being a college town with an outdoor recreation focus. By making a connection between the business district and ETSU, we hope to create a welcoming community for students, faculty and staff, alumni and parents. 

Our focus on outdoor recreation will encourage us to become a more walkable community, seek out opportunities to enjoy the outdoors in our trails and greenspaces and recruit businesses that attract an active community. 

Members of the Board of Directors:

Craig Torbett, chair
Shelly Crowe, vice chair
David Nelson, treasurer
Kim Blaine
Whitney Goetz
Kate Van Huss
Tracy Johnson
Donna Noland
Grant Summers
Click here to learn more about the National Main Street program.